Curriculum Overview

At Swallow Hill, we aim to provide a personalised learning route for every student that offers a broad, balanced and stimulating curriculum allowing learners to study at an appropriate level. Each day starts with a 25 minute tutorial session followed by 6 periods of 50 minute learning ensuring that all students have increased learning time in English, Maths and Science. 

At Key Stage 3...

At Key Stage 3 (Years 7 & 8), students access a whole range of subjects across the academy including:

Core Subjects - English, maths, science, computing and PE
Foundation Subjects - Art, music, drama, geography, history, design technology, modern foreign languages and wellbeing.

Students in key stage 3 also study 'Resilience' (a subject which combines 'The 6 R's' Resilience, Responsibility, Reflection, Reasoning, Respect and Resourcefulness with Communication.) and 'Wellbeing'. It is through these sessions that we deliver important lessons and information to students including teaching British Values.

At Key Stage 4...

At Key Stage 4 (Years 9, 10 & 11), students start to study the core subjects (English, maths, science) at GCSE level with increased time across all three subjects. 

In the remaining curriculum time, students can customise their learning by choosing three GCSE or BTEC option courses from our extensive range of subjects. These courses tend to be studied over 2 or 3 years depending on progress, allowing students to make further choices in Year 11.

British Values...

British values are an essential aspect of life at Swallow Hill and we actively promote them throughout the curriculum but particularly through our resilience and wellbeing lessons, tutorial time, assemblies and drop down days.

More Information...

For further information on any aspect of the curriculum at Swallow Hill, or to find out what your child will be studying at any given time, please contact us using the information on the 'Contact Us' page.